2 years ago

Back to the Future – Tumbledown House returns to Alaska

 

 

Gambling. Murder. Booze. Bicycles.

The music of Tumbledown House has been described as “gritty saloon jazz”, “modern speakeasy music”, and “Tom Waits in a cocktail dress”. Consisting primarily of sultry vocalist Gillian Howe and the eclectic indie-jazz guitar work of Tyler Ryan Miller, Tumbledown House provides the soundtrack for raucous, prohibition-themed parties and has “quickly ascended as one of the new, promising acts of the Rocky Mountain region” (Pop Rocket Press).

 

 

Tumbledown House has a brand new release (their second) called “Fables and Falsehoods”. It enlists the talents of ten other musicians (including three horn players from New Orleans’ Dirty Dozen Brass Band) for an upbeat, 1920’s big band romp. The new album explores diverse subject matter (one song is based on the original story of Pinocchio written by Carlo Collodi in 1883, another describes the only consecrated shrine dedicated to unrepentant sinners, which still stands in Tucson, Arizona) and showcases the duo’s talent for creating something vintage and familiar, yet refreshing, distinct, and exciting.

2012 marks the third time that Tumbledown House has made it north to Alaska, and the second time Monolith has had the pleasure of working with them.  See below for tour dates.

 

5/16/2012 Wednesday HUMPY’S Anchorage 9pm
5/17/2012 Thursday Ressurrect Art Coffeehouse Seward 7pm
5/18/2012 Friday Kharacters Homer 10pm
5/19/2012 Saturday Ninilchik PeddlerHomer 7pm

5/19/2012 Saturday Kharacters  1030pm

5/20/2012 Sunday Kingfisher Lodge Cooper Landing

5/24/2012 Thursday Denali Park Salmon Bake Denali 10pm
5/25/2012 Friday Denali Park Salmon Bake Denali 10pm
5/26/2012 Saturday Marlin Fairbanks 10pm
5/27/2012 Sunday Fairview Inn Talkeetna 930pm
5/31/2012 Thursday Humpy’s Anchorage 930pm
6/1/2012 Friday Taproot Anchorage 930pm
6/2/2012 Saturday House Concert/ Brown Bear Anchorage

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Artists

Emma Hill 6 View All